Dear World, Meet Prism X Strategy.

Prism X Strategy
4 min readJun 1, 2020

--

Written By: Jessica Borich, Founder and Principal Strategist

I am so excited to share with you that I am officially launching my consulting agency — Prism X Strategy. We bring light to solve complex business challenges with our approaches and methodology. By providing a unique perspective, our clients can expect a spectrum of innovative solutions. We partner with high-growth organizations to solve problems, support growth, and expand positive impact through innovative design strategies. Through our highly collaborative approaches, we drive positive organizational change, and co-create solutions that meet the needs of our clients and the communities they serve.

This dream of mine has been in the making for years and it seems a bit surreal to be launching amidst the pandemic. But now more than ever, it’s time for renewal, reinvention and transformation. This is only the beginning of the journey because amongst the pressing social, environmental and development issues we as society face, I believe there is hope and opportunity. That is why I am confident the timing is exactly as it should be because Prism X Strategy can work with organizations to be more purpose-driven and create authentic impact.

A picture of my mom and dad from 1982.
A picture of my mom and dad from 1982.

Throughout my life, I have been searching for ways to give meaning to and honour my parents’ journey to Canada. However, I never imagined it would show up in the form of a career path or life’s work. My family has a pattern of migration — my grandparents left China for Vietnam during WW2 and 40 years ago (almost to the day I’m making this post), my parents escaped Vietnam by boat to seek a better future for their family. Their journey included imprisonment, transfer of identity, and time in a refugee camp before settling in Canada. Growing up, my four siblings and I witnessed my parents’ hard work ethic as they sponsored 13 family members to immigrate to Canada. We experienced firsthand a failed system where newcomers were not adequately supported. Integration into a new culture was challenging due to language barriers, racial injustices, and a broken system inhibiting people to thrive and reach their full potential. In an effort to be self-sufficient, my mom made multiple attempts at establishing various businesses; however, these were unsuccessful due to the underlying lack of financial access and inclusion. As a result, my parents encouraged us to focus on school, get a good education, and find a good job to prevent us from facing the same hardships they endured.

Thus, I completed my education and started my career. Despite working with a few multinational companies, I found myself feeling disconnected and lacking purpose hence why I was drawn to Vancity and their co-operative values. During my 15 years with the organization, I was able to make an impact through my work on the local community level. I had the opportunity to collaborate and co-create with amazing changeleaders across sectors and industries who were passionate about making a difference.

About a year ago, I decided that my career needed to be entrenched in intentionality. I knew I needed to design my life and define my purpose. I wanted to use my voice, leadership and power to solve complex global challenges and promote gender equality, sustainability, environmental protection, human dignity, and peace. Embracing my entrepreneurial spirit, I took the courageous step of leaving the corporate world to do just that. As I started the next phase of my career, I never dreamed that I would have the opportunity to connect my work to the story of my family and heritage.

Prism X Strategy In Alliance With the Humanity Lab Foundation.
Prism X Strategy In Alliance With the Humanity Lab Foundation.

When I got to this place of clarity, I serendipitously met an inspiring collaborator, mentor ally and friend, Hazami Barmada, who became my #Shero. She’s invited me and Prism to join alliances with her Foundation, the Humanity Lab as the Chief Strategy Officer and the Partnerships Lead for the Be The One global movement. We have a shared purpose and our values are aligned as both of our organizations have a commitment to tackling the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). This alliance is the perfect example of Sustainable Development Goal 17: Partnerships — strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development.

United Nations Sustainable Development Goals
United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

Our strategic alliance is the perfect opportunity to be part of a #DreamTeam to make magic happen. Every day since we’ve embarked on this journey together, I have been brought to tears as our work allows me to witness all sides of humanity — the joy, the sadness, the pain and the hope. This is evidence that the world needs more empathy, compassion and love. On World Cultural Diversity Day for Dialogue and Development (May 21), we launched the Be The One campaign on the global stage. If you are inspired, I encourage you to join the Be The One movement because you have the power to Be The One to create lasting change. Here at Prism X Strategy, we want to Be The One to Impact the world by helping clients be a force for good.

Let’s connect. Learn more about Prism X Strategy and together, let’s make the world a better place for us and the generations to come.

~Jessica

--

--

Prism X Strategy

Prism X Strategy is a boutique consultancy firm that supports a spectrum of clients who want to define their social purpose.